2022 SISS Netball Tournament

Our SISSNA Inc. Tournament will return to Timaru at Aorangi Park, Morgans Road 

from Monday 29 August through to Thursday 1 September 2022. 

The Silver Ferns of the future will be on show when one of the largest netball competitions in Australasia is held in Timaru in August/September at Aorangi Park and the South Canterbury Netball Courts. The South Island Secondary Schools' Tournament involves over 80 teams and more than 1200 players, coaches, managers and umpires.

The SISS Netball Tournament is in its 59th year. The first tournament was held in Timaru in 1963 and was initiated by Fay Mangos, supported by others, who was encouraged by her school pupils at Timaru Girls High School who were keen to participate in a tournament such as their hockey counterparts were able to do. It is held annually across the South Island at 5 venues - Nelson  Christchurch  Timaru  Dunedin  Invercargill

The tournament has three grades, A, B, and C. Each year the bottom three teams from A grade are replaced by the top three teams from B grade and the bottom three teams from B grade are replaced by the top three teams from C grade. The C grade provides competition for smaller schools and combined schools.
The top five 'A' grade teams from the tournament qualify as the South Island Representatives at the NZSS Champs and will compete against 11 other teams from the two Regional North Island tournaments held in the same week as SISS.
The 2022 NZSS Championships will be held in Porirua at the Te Rauparaha Arena from Tuesday 11 October to Friday 14 October.

Unfortunately both the SISSNetball Tournament and the NZSS Champs were cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the Covid 19 virus. This has been extremely disappointing for our school athletes and their supporters. 

Well Done and congratulations to:  

NNZ Secondary School Trials Camp: The following players from Netball Mainland and Netball South who have been selected to attend the NNZ Secondary School Trials Camp. 

Isabella Galvan and Holly Munro - St Andrews College; Georgia Gold - Rangiora High School; Grace Southby - St Hildas Collegiate; Losa Fifita - Southland Girls High School. Aaliyah Metcalf - Lincoln High School was not included due to injury.

SISSNA Contacts

Kayla Cunningham— Secretary

Mob: 0273202352
Email: sissna60@gmail.com

Maggie Lloyd — Chairperson

138 Battys Rd, Blenheim
Ph: (03) 577 9777
Mob: 027 577 9007
​​​​​​​Email: maggie.lloyd@xtra.co.nz